Asian Noodle Salad

Ok, so this is not a super popular pin. I pinned it myself so I’d have the recipe in my “favorite recipes” folder, so this is breaking the rules just a bit. And while my goal is to avoid hyperbole and help you find the truly great, “OMG best recipe” ever and not just the recipe that gets that overtalked hyperbole, I have to tell you that this is one of the BEST recipes ever. Hands down.

Asian noodle salad

It won’t be great to you, however, if you don’t like Asian flavors and eschew vegetables. If you hate pasta, pass on this one.

BUT if you like a little pasta salad now and then enjoy crunchy vegetables with some Asian flavorings thrown in for good measure, you must make this.

I typically make this several times over the summer. I know that we are nearing the end of summer, but where I live, it will stay warm for a couple more months, give or take a few weeks. It all depends on the year. But we have an Indian summer pretty much every summer, So I might make this once or twice more.

Too cool already for you to make this where you are? Save the recipe for next summer. Seriously.

Ok, for the source, it’s from Pioneer Woman. But it’s not really. It’s a Jamie Oliver recipe. I think that PW modified some things for her version. I’d made the salad once when I found it on her website and I was SOOO happy to have it at my fingertips when I wanted it.

I like to chop and slice the vegetables ahead of time and I usually bag or plastic box them up separately. Because this recipe makes a lot, we might eat this for dinner and then I might enjoy it for lunch a couple of times during the week. Because my fam doesn’t like cucumber, I might not add it to the family meal, but will when I make the salad for my lunch. By keeping everything separate I can control what goes in when.

The recipe below is a slightly modified version of the Jamie Oliver’s version and PW’s version. Only slightly modified, because when something is nearly perfect, you don’t mess with it too much!

There are no size requirements on the salad ingredients. Prepare more of the stuff you like and go easy on the stuff you don’t like. But do follow the dressing recipe.

Asian Noodle Salad

Salad:

Linguine noodles, cooked and cooled

Sliced Napa cabbage

Sliced purple cabbage

Baby spinach

Red, yellow and orange bell peppers, sliced thin

Bean sprouts (AKA Mung bean sprouts; these can be found in a bag or loose)

Cucumbers, sliced thin

Whole cashews, toasted just lightly in a skillet

Dressing:

1 Whole lime, juiced

8 tab. olive oil

8 tab. soy sauce

2 tab. sesame oil (you can do more, but only if you really like the flavor)

1/3 c. brown sugar

3 tab. fresh ginger, chopped fine

2 cloves garlic, minced or chopped fine

1 jalapeno, chopped fine (you can do 2 jalapenos if you like it really spicy)

Directions:

Mix dressing ingredients. You can store the salad components in the fridge until ready to eat (and up to a week depending on how the vegetables hold up) or make your salad right now! In a bowl, mix noodles, vegetables and dressing. Add nuts. ENJOY!

 

 

Leave a Reply

